I’m new to this whole blogging thing..

by metacognizant

I guess this is where my first entry goes. I suppose I’m a bit late to get started in the whole blogging scene, but better late than never, especially when I am prompted to start blogging by my parents. To give a little background on my demographics, I’m a 19 year old guy who’s a senior at Simpson University, I’m majoring in cross-cultural studies and minoring in psychology, and I’m engaged to the most wonderful woman in the world.

This blog will be about nearly everything, but I’ll try to stick to deeper subjects. Subjects of interest to me, that I will assuredly be blogging about, are: psychology, neuroscience, philosophy, anthropology, and theology. For an example of my academic taste, I have recently read the book titled The Case for a Creator by Lee Strobel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m now reading Phantoms in the Brain: Probing the Mysteries of the Human Mind by V.S. Ramachandran, and Culture Making by Andy Crouch. I’m a Christian, but I do not believe with blind faith; in fact, I believe that, Biblically, I am called to be wise as a serpent, and hence I do not separate my faith from reason or science and my worldview necessarily invokes a systematic combination of my knowledge into a complete whole.

That said, I’ll be posting here as much as possible about whatever is worthwhile for reading. I hope to someday write a book, and perhaps this blog will give me some good insights and ideas for it someday.

-GS

